Peacebuilder Bulletin: Octobre 2013

Voici la newsletter régulière de Insight on Conflict destinée aux personnes et organisations qui travaillent pour la paix. Vous y trouverez notamment des opportunités de financements et les nouveautés en matière de recherche. Inscrivez-vous à cette newsletter au lien suivant : insightonconflict.org/sign-up

OPPORTUNITES DE FINANCEMENT

Financement pour les organisations

Le Fonds d’Evaluation Stratégique de la Banque Mondiale lance un appel pour des propositions

Le Fonds d’Evaluation Stratégique de la Banque Mondiale est un fonds d’affectation spéciale avec plusieurs donateurs qui est soutenu par le Département pour le Développement International Britannique et géré par le Réseau pour le Développement Humain de la Banque Mondiale. Il vient de faire son deuxième appel pour propositions visant à améliorer l'efficacité des politiques de développement en étendant le base d’évidences sur l’impact de programmes évolutifs affectant les résultats du développement humain.  Date limite : 01 Novembre 2013. En savoir plus

Le fonds de Développement des Femmes d’Afrique

Le FDFA assure le financement des organisations locales, nationales, sous régionales et régionales en Afrique qui travaillent pour l’autonomisation des femmes. Le FDFA est un fonds de développement du programme et de renforcement des capacités institutionnelles, qui vise à aider à bâtir une culture de l'apprentissage et des partenariats au sein du mouvement des femmes. En addition de la collecte de fonds et l'octroi de subventions, le FDFA tentera de renforcer les capacités organisationnelles de ses bénéficiaires. En savoir plus

La Fondation Tiet

La Fondation Tiet soutien des organisions au travers le monde pour résoudre les questions dans le domaine des droits de l’homme qui relève des défis d'une manière fort impact et à faible coût. La fondation accepte actuellement des candidatures pour ces programmes de financement. Date limite : 30 Novembre 2013. En savoir plus

Financement universitaires et opportunités éducatives

Le programme « Gates Cambridge » pour les bourses

Le programme « Gates Cambridge » pour les bourses accepte des applications pour les bourses des candidats internationaux pour étudier au niveau de troisième cycle à plein temps dans n’importe quel sujet offert par leur université. Ce programme est offert par la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates. Le but de ce programme est d’établir un réseau global de dirigeants de l’avenir qui s'engagent pour améliorer les vies des autres. La date limite de candidature est le 03 décembre 2013. En savoir plus

Le programme de bourses internationales de « Westminster »

L’université de Westminster invite les applications pour son programme de bourses internationales pour lequel l’université offre des cours. Le but de ce programme est d’offre des bourses selon l’excellence académique, besoin financier et potentiel développemental. La date limite de candidature est le 1 novembre 2013.  En savoir plus

Le programme de bourses CBA-Chevening

Le programme de bourses CBA-Chevening accepte des candidatures dans les domaines de Journalisme International, Media et Développement International, Gestion des Medias. Date limite : 1 Novembre 2013. En savoir plus

Des Bourses de l’Université de Oxford pour les étudiants des études Africains

Tous candidats éligibles sont invités de poser leurs candidatures pour la bourse de Waverley- ORISHA qui est offert par l’Université de Oxford. Le but de ce programme est d’aider des étudiants excellents au niveau académique issus de milieux défavorisés qui ont montrés le potentiel de faire une contribution importante dans leurs futures carrières. ORISHA (Le fonds de Recherches des Humanités Africains) est géré par le  Comité de Bourses  du Centre pour les Etudes Africains et fournis de financement pour des études du troisième cycle en Etudes Africains. Date limite : 24 Janvier 2014.En savoir plus

La bourse de Dorothy Marchus Senesh pour candidates

La Fondation International Peace Research Associationest heureuse d'inviter les applications pour le Programme de bourses Senesh dans les domaines de la paix et d'études pour le développement. Le but de ce programme est de développer les objectives et activités de Peace Research Association qui a pendant cinquante années travaillé pour améliorer le processus de paix. Date limite : 15 Janvier 2014. En savior plus

Les Prix

Le prix "International Leader of Tomorrow »

Candidats internationaux sont invités de participer dans le prix « International Leader of Tomorrow » offert dans les domaines des arts du spectacle, du sport, des débats, d’écriture, ou des concours ou examens académiques externes. Ce prix vise à reconnaitre les étudiants internationaux qui montrent une réussite académique supérieure, les qualités de leader, participation dans les affaires étudiants et le service dans la communauté, réussite reconnue. La date limite de candidature est le 10 décembre 2013. En savoir plus

Le Projet Aftermath (conséquences)

La mission du Projet Aftermath est de soutenir des projets photographiques qui raconte l’autre moitié de l’histoire du conflit – l’histoire de ce qui est nécessaire pour les individus afin de apprendre encore comment vivre, comment reconstruire des vies et des maisons détruites, comment restaurer la société civile, comment faire face aux blessures persistantes de la guerre tout en luttant pour créer de nouvelles avenues pour la paix. Les candidatures pour le financement devraient montre une compréhension de cette mission. Les candidatures pourraient avoir un rapport aux conséquences de nombreux types de conflit, et pas seulement les guerres internationales. Date limite : 11 Novembre 2013. En savoir plus

Resources

Pour plus d’opportunités de financement, et pour d'entendre parler d'eux comme ils sont annoncés, il ya de nombreux sites Web que vous pouvez regarder. Y compris : Funds for NGOSPeace and Collaborative Development Network, et Opportunities for Africans

LA RECHERCHE CE MOIS-CI

Une million de voix: Le monde que nous voulons

Une million de voix, du groupe ONU de développement, cherche à alimenter le débat autour d’un nouveau schéma/système pour les buts du développement du millénaire. Le rapport réunit les points de vue de plus d’un million de personnes provenant de partout dans le monde et qui ont participé dans une serie de consultations, discussions et questionnaires sur ce qu’ils souhaitent pour après 2015.

La violence armée non-conventionnelle et les acteurs “non-état”: les enjeux pour la médiation et l’action humanitaire

La violence armee non conventionelle et les acteurs non-etat, de NOREF, examine les tendances dans la violence armée et non-conventionelle, et ce que cela signifie dans la construction de la paix. Le rapport argumente que la communauté de construction de paix n’a pas encore su formuler une réponse efficace face aux enjeux qui font partie de telles formes de violence; et propose les politiques et pratiques à appronfondir.

Contrer l’extremisme violent: Une perspective de la construction de la paix

Les oeuvreurs pour la paix savent aussi que travailler au sein de mechanismes, réseaux et pratiques locaux protègent la durabilité, la cohérence et l’impacte de tout programme de prévention de conflit.

Contrer l’extremisme violent, de USIP, examine comment les approches de construction de la paix peuvent améliorer les pratiques pour contrer la violence extremiste (CVE). Le rapport souligne les points faibles dans le CVE que la construction de la paix peut résoudre.

Les stratégies communes pour les femmes dans les pays en transition

En tant que partie intégrante d’un projet pour construire une communauté de soutien pour les femmes dans les zones de conflit et poste-conflit, l’USIP a réunit 14 femmes leaders de l’Afghanistan, la Libye, l’Iraq et la Tunisie. Les stratégies communes pour les femmes en pays de transition resume leur discussion des problèmes communs qui affectent leurs pays.

Le pouvoir des perceptions: localiser les approches de construction de la paix internationales

Le pouvoir des perceptions, de Sara Hellmüller, examine comment les différentes perceptions du conflit au RD Congo influencent les stratégies de construction de paix au niveau local et international. [Inscription requise].

BLOG INSIGHT ON CONFLICT

Le conflit et la religion, où est l’espace neutre?

Joey Ager propose une nouvelle approche à la religion pour maitriser le pouvoir créatif de la foi pour établir une paix durable. Lire plus.

Gagnant du prix 2013: Peace Solutions International, Uganda et le RD Congo

Peace Solutions International emploie les refugies en Uganda pour produire des films qui peuvent éduquer les gens sur comment oeuvrer pour la paix et pour les motiver à appliquer ce savoir chez eux. Lire plus.

Gagnant du prix 2013: Kapamagogopa, les Philippines

L’organisation Kapamagogopa veut contrer les préjugés entre chrétiens et musulmans aux Philippines en introduisant des volontaires musulmans au sein d’organisations gêrées par des chrétiens. Lire plus.

Gagnant du prix 2013: Community Network pour la justice sociale, Uganda.

CNSJ travaille pour sauver les enfants-soldats victimes des enlèvements du LRA de Joseph Kony ainsi que pour s’assurer qu’ils retrouvent une place saine au sein de leur communauté à laquelle ils reviennent. Lire plus.

Gagnant du prix 2013: Comunidad de Paz de San José de Apartadó, Colombie

La Comunidad de Paz de San José de Apartadó est une communauté dédiée à prouver que la cohabitation pacifique est possible en Colombie même parmi la violence. Lire plus.

Les prix pour les oeuvreurs pour la paix de demain 2013

Les gagnants des oeuvreurs pour la paix de demain 2013 ont été annoncés. Lire plus.

Le récit d’une grève: Protestes et colère en Colombie

Les démonstrations en Colombie sont-elles dues aux terres et à l’agriculture ou font-elles partie d’un mouvement social plus grand? Lire plus.

Réevaluer le risque en localisant l’aide

Un nouveau rapport de l’ODI remet en question la perception que transmettre de l’aide à travers des acteurs locaux plutot qu’internationaux est en fait plus risqué. Lire plus.

Les populations locales saississent leur chance pour la paix en la Thailande du Sud

De Ismail Wolff: une tentative de procédé de paix donne de l’espoir pour une mise à terme du conflit durant depuis plus de dix ans en Thailande du sud. Lire plus.

Les oeuvreurs pour la paix éxigent une mise à terme du conflit au Cashmire.

Alors que le procédé de paix au Cashmire échoue et la violence s’aggrave, des innocents sont prix dans le chaos. Les oeuvreurs de paix veulent que cela change. Lire plus.

Les courts de la paix Baraza: s’assurer de la justice “juste” et non-punitive au RDC.

Les courts de Baraza, menées par leurs communautés, assurent des procès justes, accessibles et non-punitives dans les zones rurales où le conflit devient vite violent.Lire plus.

La construction de la paix inclusive au Népal: enjeux et opportunités

Les programmes de construction de paix au Népal se font critiquer de ne pas bénéficier aux plus affectés par la violence. Lire plus.

Briser le silence: le colombien César López combat la violence par la musique

Un entretien avec le musicien colombien César López qui, depuis 1994, remet en question la violence de son pays à travers la musique. Lire plus.

Peacebuilder Bulletin: October 2013

A regular newsletter from Insight on Conflict for peacebuilders. Featuring funding opportunities, relevant research, and more. Visit insightonconflict.org/sign-up to subscribe.

FUNDING OPPORTUNITIES

Funding for organisations

World Bank’s SIEF Call for Proposals

The World Bank’s SIEF is a multi-donor trust fund, supported by DFID and administered by the World Bank’s Human Development Network. It has now announced its second call for proposals to improve the effectiveness of development policies by expanding the evidence base on the impact of scalable programs affecting human development outcomes. Deadline: 01 November 2013 Find out more

CIVICUS Funding to Conduct Local Dialogues for NGOs

CIVICUS, the World Alliance for Citizen Participation – an international alliance of members and partners which constitutes an influential network of organisations at the local, national, regional and international levels, and spans the spectrum of civil society – has announced a call for expressions of interest to convene partners to conduct locally initiated multistakeholder dialogues in the framework of its New Social Contract project. Deadline: 15 October 2013 Find out more

African Women’s Development Fund

The AWDF funds local, national, sub-regional and regional organisations in Africa working towards women’s empowerment. The AWDF is an institutional capacity-building and programme development fund, which aims to help build a culture of learning and partnerships within the African women’s movement. In addition to raising money and awarding grants, the AWDF will attempt to strengthen the organisational capacities of its grantees. Find out more

Tiet Foundation

The Tiet Foundation supports organisations worldwide in addressing issues in human rights that address challenges in a high-impact and low-cost way. The foundation is currently accepting applications for its grant programsDeadline: 30 November 2013. Find out more

University funding and training opportunities

Gates Cambridge Scholarships Program

Applications are accepted for Gates Cambridge Scholarships Program offered to international applicants to pursue full-time postgraduate studies in any subject offered by their University. This program is offered by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. The goal of this program is to build a global network of future leaders committed to improving the lives of others. Deadline 03 December 2013 Find out more

Westminster International Scholarships Program

University of Westminster is inviting applications for International Scholarships Program for which courses are offered by the University. The purpose of this program is to offer Scholarship according to the Academic excellence, financial need and development potential. Deadline: 01 November 2013. Find out more

2013-2014 Fellowships in International Human Rights

For recent graduates of law schools or graduate programs in journalism, international relations, area studies, or other relevant disciplines from universities worldwide. Fellows typically work full-time in Human Rights Watch’s New York or Washington, DC office or in some instances in another location. Fellows monitor human rights developments in various countries, conduct on-site investigations, draft reports on human rights conditions, and engage in advocacy and media outreach aimed at publicizing and curtailing human rights violations. Deadline: 16 October 2013Find out more

CBA-Chevening scholarships Program

Applications are accepted for CBA-Chevening scholarships Program offered in the fields of International Journalism, Media and International Development, Media Management. Deadline: 1 November 2013Find out more

University of Oxford Scholarships for African Studies Students

All eligible applicants are invited to submit applications for Waverley – ORISHA Joint Scholarship offered by University of Oxford. The objective of this program is to assist academically excellent students from disadvantaged backgrounds who have shown the potential to make a significant contribution in their future careers. ORISHA (African Humanities Research Fund) is administered by the Scholarships Committee of the African Studies Centre and provides funding for postgraduate study in Africa Studies. Deadline: 24 January 2014Find out more

Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowship for Women Applicants

The International Peace Research Association Foundation is pleased to invite applications for Senesh Fellowships Program in the fields of Peace and Development Studies. The objective of this program is to further the purposes and activities of the International Peace Research Association which has for the last fifty years sought to enhance the process of peace. Deadline: 15 January 2014Find out more

Awards

International Leader of Tomorrow Award

International applicants are invited to take part in International Leader of Tomorrow Award offered in the field of performing arts, sports, debating or creative writing, or external academic competitions and examinations. This award aims to recognize international undergraduate students who demonstrate superior academic achievement, leadership skills, involvement in student affairs and community service, recognized achievement. Deadline: 10 December 2013Find out more

The Aftermath Project

The Aftermath Project’s mission is to support photographic projects that tell the other half of the story of conflict — the story of what it takes for individuals to learn to live again, to rebuild destroyed lives and homes, to restore civil societies, to address the lingering wounds of war while struggling to create new avenues for peace. Grant proposals should reflect an understanding of this mission. Proposals may relate to the aftermath of numerous kinds of conflict, not just international wars. Deadline: 11 November 2013Find out more

Resources

For more funding opportunities, and to hear about them as they are announced, there are many websites you can check. Including: Funds for NGOSPeace and Collaborative Development Network, and Opportunities for Africans

RESEARCH THIS MONTH

A Million Voices: The World We Want

"There are also calls for a truly transformative agenda to tackle the challenges that were not addressed in the MDGs, as well as those that are now becoming critical. Many of these issues were addressed in the Millennium declaration: inclusive growth and decent jobs, governance, peace and security, freedom from violence, and environmental sustainability. People are demanding a universal agenda that tackles challenges both for people and for the planet. Equality and non-discrimination also stood out as a key message: people are demanding justice, participation and dignity.There is no progress if people are left behind."

A Million Voices, from the UN Development Group, hopes to inform the debate around a successor framework to the Millennium development goals. It draws together the views of over one million people from all over the world who have taken part in a series of consultations, discussions and surveys, on what they want post-2015.

Non-conventional armed violence and non-state actors: challenges for mediation and humanitarian action

"New approaches to dealing with humanitarian and human rights abuses are needed to address the activities of violent actors in both these conflict and non-conflict contexts. This is partly an effect of the exposure of civilian populations to acts of extreme violence, which has become an intrinsic parts of armed groups’ strategic outlook – a means of ensuring local control, exercising rudimentary justice and engaging in asymmetric warfare."

Non-conventional armed violence and non-state actors, from NOREF, looks at trends in non-conventional armed violence and what this means for peacebuiding. The paper argues that the peacebuilding community has not yet developed a response the the challenges these forms of violence present, and suggests areas of policy and practice in need of further research.

Countering Violent Extremism: A Peacebuilding Perspective

Peacebuilders know also that working within existing local mechanisms, networks, and practices ensures the sustainability, relevance, and impact of any conflict prevention program.

Countering violent extremism, from USIP, examines how peacebuilding approaches can enhance countering violent extremism (CVE) practice. The report looks at the areas of weakness in CVE that peacebuilding can fill.

Common Strategies for Women in Transition Countries

"Across countries, lack of security for women leaders and their families is an overriding concern. Women also fear a major rollback of their rights, have been largely excluded from reconciliation and peacebuilding efforts, and still see significant walls between government and civil society. Many men and women in these four countries remain unaware of the rights women already have. Moreover, enforcement of laws that protect the rights of women is weak."

As part of an ongoing project to build a community of practice looking at supporting women in conflict and post-conflict environments, USIP gathered together 14 women leaders from Afghanistan, Libya, Iraq, and Tunisia. Common Strategies for Women in Transition Countries summarises the discussion between them on the common problems affecting their countries.

The Power of Perceptions: Localizing International Peacebuilding Approaches

"The international community's priority was the restoration of the state because they saw the conflict as a breakdown of authority at the national level. The liberal state that the international community had foreseen was however hybridized with local authority structures in the course of its interaction with local perceptions and experiences. At the same time, international strategies eschewed or only belatedly included local priorities, such as reconciliation between antagonistic communities and land conflicts."

The Power of Perceptions, by Sara Hellmüller, looks at how different perceptions of the conflict in DR Congo influenced local and international peacebuilding strategies and the interaction between them. (Subscription required).

FROM OUR BLOG

Religion and conflict: What is neutral space?

Joey Ager argues for a change in thinking toward religion in order to harness the creative power of faith to form lasting peace. Read more »

2013 prize winner: Peace Solutions International, Uganda and DR Congo

Peace Solutions International works refugees in Uganda to produce films that educate people how to build peace and motivates them to return home ready to do so. Read more »

2013 prize winner: Kapamagogopa, Philippines

Kapamagogopa counteracts prejudice between Muslims and Christians in the Philippines by introducing Muslim volunteers into organisations run by Christians. Read more »

2013 prize winner: Community Network for Social Justice, Uganda

CNSJ is working not only to rescue child soldiers kidnapped by Joseph Kony’s LRA but to ensure they have a meaningful place in communities they come home to. Read more »

2013 prize winner: Comunidad de Paz de San José de Apartadó, Colombia

Comunidad de Paz de San José de Apartadó is a community dedicated to proving that peaceful cohabitation is possible in Colombia even amidst the violence. Read more »

Tomorrow’s Peacebuilders awards 2013 – the winners

The winners of this year’s Tomorrow’s Peacebuilders competition to find the world’s most exciting and innovative peacebuilding organisations have been announced. Read more »

Chronicle of a strike foretold: Protests and discontent in Colombia

Are recent protests in Colombia about more the land and farming, and be instead a part of a larger social movement? Read more »

Re-evaluating risk when localising aid

A new report from the ODI challenges the common perception that channeling aid through local rather than international actors is inherently more risky. Read more »

Local people seize a chance for peace in Southern Thailand

By Ismail Wolff: A tentative peace process is raising hopes of an end to the ten-year long insurgency in Southern Thailand. Read more »

Local peacebuilders demand an end to conflict in Kashmir

As Kashmir peace process falters and violence escalates, innocent people who are caught in the crossfire. Local peacebuilders want this to change. Read more »

Baraza Peace Courts: ensuring fair and non-punitive justice in DRC

The Baraza, community-led courts, ensure accessible, fair and non-punitive justice to communities in rural areas, where conflicts can quickly turn violent. Read more »

Inclusive peacebuilding in Nepal: challenges and opportunities

Current peacebuilding programmes in Nepal have come under widespread criticism that they’re not benefiting the people most affected by violence. Read more »

Breaking the silence: Colombian César López fights violence with music

An interview with Colombian musician César López, who, since 1994, has been challenging the violence in his country through his music. Read more »