Peacebuilder Bulletin: Novembre 2013

Voici la newsletter régulière de Insight on Conflict destinée aux personnes et organisations qui travaillent pour la paix. Vous y trouverez notamment des opportunités de financements et les nouveautés en matière de recherche. Inscrivez-vous à cette newsletter au lien suivant : insightonconflict.org/sign-up

OPPORTUNITES DE FINANCEMENT

Financement pour les organisations

Fonds MATCH International pour les femmes

MATCH International a annoncé l'ouverture de son appel à propositions 2013 pour le fond international des femmes. Il s’agit du premier fond international canadien à se concentrer sur l'innovation sociale internationale. MATCH veut être un pont entre les mouvements féministes pour les droits humains et le monde de l’innovation sociale. Ce fonds considère que les femmes sont des actrices essentielles pour impulser les changements sociaux dans le monde. Il finance les organisations pour les droits des femmes dans le monde afin d'assurer des changements durables dans la vie des femmes et des jeunes filles. Délai : 6 décembre 2013 En savoir plus

Le fonds mondial pour les femmes

Le fonds mondial pour les femmes fournit des financements pour faire valoir les droits des femmes et des jeunes filles dans le monde. Il accorde des subventions comprises entre 500 $ et 30 000 $ pour les dépenses de fonctionnement et d’administration des programmes. Délai : 15 décembre 2013 En savoir plus 

Programme Sarajevo 2014

Le programme Sarajevo 2014, soutenu par EuropeAid, accepte dès à présent les candidatures. Ce programme a pour but de contribuer à la réconciliation dans les Balkans de l'Ouest. Il a été conçu pour aider à mener à terme le processus de réconciliation dans les Balkans de l'Ouest.Délai : 15 janvier 2014. En savoir plus

Subventions individuelles

Programme d'échange de la Société civile (CSEP)

Ce programme permet aux professionnels de passer du temps dans une organisation différente où ils pourront s'impliquer dans des projets communs, partager leurs connaissances et établir des relations. Pour une période comprise entre deux semaines et six mois, les participants (d'un échange unilatéral ou bilatéral) auront l'opportunité de travailler avec d'autres organisations issues d’un autre secteur de la communauté des ONG et une autre partie du monde. Délai : 15 janvier 2014. En savoir plus

Le fonds Nexus : subventions rétrospectives

Afin de conserver les connaissances accumulées au fil du temps, le fonds Nexus propose des subventions rétrospectives aux professionnels hautement expérimentés issus de la communauté de prévention des atrocités pour faire réfléchir et retenir les leçons apprises ainsi que les meilleures pratiques. Lors d'un congé sabbatique d'un à trois mois donné par leur organisation actuelle ou d'une transition vers un autre poste, ou même vers la retraite, les bénéficiaires de cette subvention ont l'opportunité de réfléchir à leurs travaux et de trouver des idées permettant à notre communauté de s'améliorer.Délai : 15 janvier 2014. En savoir plus

Financement universitaires et opportunités éducatives

GDAI (Gouvernance pour le développement des initiatives en Afrique) : bourses de doctorat du Programme pour l'Afrique

Les candidats africains sont invités à envoyer leurs demandes pour le programme de bourses de doctorat GDAI, offert par la Fondation Mo Ibrahim. La bourse est attribuée dans le domaine de la gouvernance pour le développement en Afrique. La bourse est partielle : elle couvre les frais universitaires durant trois ans et les dépenses afférentes à l’hébergement et aux frais quotidiens seulement pour la première année. Date limite : 30 avril 2014. En savoir plus

Le programme Yale World Fellows 2014

Le programme Yale World Fellows de l'université de Yale aux États-Unis est un programme de développement du leadership. Les dirigeants d’ONG de tous les pays (sauf les États-Unis) peuvent profiter des cours, de la recherche, des institutions et des professeurs de l’université. Les futurs dirigeants de toutes les disciplines et de toutes les nationalités sont invités à postuler pour tirer le meilleur bénéficie d’un mélange d’idées, de visions du monde et d’expériences aussi intense qu’inattendu. Date limite :4 décembre 2013 En savoir plus

Caux Scholars Program

Le Caux Scholars Program (CSP)  est un institut de formation sur les processus de paix. La formation d’un mois a lieu durant l’été et s'adresse aux jeunes dirigeants âgés de 21 à 35 ans. Depuis sa fondation en 1991, CSP compte 409 anciens élèves provenant de 105 pays. Le programme donne aux élèves la possibilité d’incarner le changement qu’ils aimeraient voir dans le monde et leur fournit les compétences pratiques pour y parvenir. Date limite : 15 février 2014 En savoir plus

Les Prix

Le prix "International Leader of Tomorrow »

Candidats internationaux sont invités de participer dans le prix « International Leader of Tomorrow » offert dans les domaines des arts du spectacle, du sport, des débats, d’écriture, ou des concours ou examens académiques externes. Ce prix vise à reconnaitre les étudiants internationaux qui montrent une réussite académique supérieure, les qualités de leader, participation dans les affaires étudiants et le service dans la communauté, réussite reconnue. La date limite de candidature est le 10 décembre 2013En savoir plus

Resources

Pour plus d’opportunités de financement, et pour d'entendre parler d'eux comme ils sont annoncés, il ya de nombreux sites Web que vous pouvez regarder. Y compris : Funds for NGOSPeace and Collaborative Development Network, et Opportunities for Africans

LA RECHERCHE CE MOIS-CI

Building Peace : prévention des conflits meurtriers

Building Peace est la nouvelle publication en ligne de l’organisation Alliance for Peacebuilding (« Alliance pour la consolidation de la paix »). Publication numéro 2 : la prévention des conflits meurtriers se concentre sur des interventions créatives conçues pour empêcher toute violence. Les articles comprennent : un exemple de l'utilisation du sport au Nigeria, des mécanismes de prévention locaux au Kenya et une interview avec le vice-secrétaire général de l'ONU, Jan Eliasson.

We came back with empty hands : comprendre le désarmement, la démobilisation et la réintégration d'enfants ayant été associés à des groupes armés en République démocratique du Congo.

We came back with empty hands [pdf] (nous sommes revenus les mains vides) étudie les expériences et attitudes de la communauté pour la programmation de la démobilisation et de la réintégration (DDR) des anciens enfants soldats en République Démocratique du Congo. L’étude comprend l'utilisation d’une cartographie corporelle (« body mapping ») pour permettre aux participants à l'étude de représenter les conséquences de la guerre. Le rapport est le résultat de la collaboration entre la Harvard Humanitarian Initiative, l’Eastern Congo Initiative et six organisations locales pour la consolidation de la paix travaillant dans l'est de la République démocratique du Congo.

Reconstruire le puzzle : perspectives pour l'amélioration des relations sociales après le conflit armé au nord du Mali

Reconstruire le puzzle, de l'Oxfam et WILDAF (Femmes, Droits et Développement en Afrique) Mali, demande aux maliens de raconter leurs expérience du conflit actuel et ce qu’ils jugent nécessaire à la paix. L’étude met en évidence les dommages causés par le conflit à la cohésion sociale et souligne la nécessité d'une réconciliation au niveau des communautés.

Missed opportunities (occasions manquées) : cas de l’amélioration des partenariats nationaux et locaux basés sur les réponses humanitaires.

Missed opportunities examine la façon dont les partenariats entre les organisations internationales et locales peuvent améliorer leurs réponses humanitaires. L'étude permet de conclure qu’en dépit des bénéfices apportés par ces partenariats, ils ne représentent pas une part importante du travail international. Elle offre des recommandations pour les investissements à venir.

Participation des femmes dans les négociations de paix : relations entre présence et influence

Participation des femmes dans les négociations de paix, d’ONU Femmes, étudie le rôle des femmes dans les récentes négociations de paix. Le rapport permet de conclure que les femmes ont très souvent un rôle minime, voire nul, dans les processus officiels de paix. Il montre aussi que les femmes ont eu des difficultés à se faire entendre dans la société civile.  Le rapport donne des recommandations sur la façon d'améliorer cette situation.

Mobilisation des communautés en matière de stratégies de protection

Engaging communities in protection strategies (mobiliser les communautés en matière de stratégies de protection) est un projet du centre Stimson qui se concentre sur la manière dont les communautés locales pourraient mieux organiser la communication autour des interventions pour protéger les civils de la violence. Jusqu’à maintenant, le projet a produit deux publications : Les perceptions de la communauté comme priorité pour leur protection et le maintien de la paix et Les stratégies d'auto-défense de la communauté : comment les soldats de la paix peuvent aider ou nuire.

BLOG INSIGHT ON CONFLICT

Dépasser les divisions au sein de la société en Bosnie-Herzégovine

Par Mirjana Kosic : les divisions ethniques en Bosnie-Herzégovine n’ont jamais été aussi fortes. Pourtant, le projet Genesis prouve que la réconciliation n'est pas qu’une chimère. En savoir plus »

Moment décisif au Burundi : les tensions augmentent en vue des élections de 2015

Par Jean Claude Nkundwa : à l'approche des élections de 2015, Jean Claude Nkundwa analyse la situation politique actuelle et les risques auxquels le pays doit faire face. En savoir plus »

De l’importance du genre

Par John Coonrod : John Coonrod, vice-président exécutif du projet Hunger, établit le bien fondé des genres ; question fondamentale et intégrale au niveau local. En savoir plus »

Malala, entre courage et prix Nobel de la paix

Par Ruairi Nolan : le courage remarquable de Malala nous rappelle que nous ne devons pas négliger la force de caractère des individus qui se battent pour la paix à n'importe quel prix. En savoir plus »

Se pourrait-il que  le Prix Nobel de la paix de cette année soit un pas de plus vers la suppression des armes chimiques ?

Par Derek Brown : le Prix Nobel de la Paix de cette année est un hommage digne, opportun et qui, espérons-le, pourra encourager la suppression des armes chimiques.En savoir plus »

Rwandais : comment se reconstruire 20 ans après le génocide ?

Par Samantha Lakin : en 2014, cela fera 20 ans que le génocide rwandais a eu lieu. De quelle manière les rwandais promeuvent-ils la paix et surmontent-ils le traumatisme des événements d’il y a 20 ans ?  En savoir plus »

Le cas du Rwanda : peut-on vraiment dédommager les victimes du génocide ?

Par Jean-Paul Mugiraneza : pourquoi les victimes du génocide rwandais se battent-elles pour obtenir réparation et est-il même possible de dédommager entièrement les victimes après de telles atrocités ? En savoir plus »

Violences sexuelles et femmes autochtones en conflit

Par Kirthi Jayakumar : Kirthi Jayakumar fait le point sur la façon dont les violences sexuelles sont souvent utilisées pendant les conflits comme moyen de destruction des populations autochtones. En savoir plus »

Une bataille perdue d’avance : la futilité de la « guerre contre la drogue » actuelle

Par Fabio Andres Diaz : Fabio Andres Diaz conteste la notion de « guerre contre la drogue » telle qu’elle est menée par l’Occident, qu’il considère inefficace et mal-avisée. En savoir plus »

Offrir une amnistie à Boko Haram : la solution pour mette fin aux violences au Nigeria ?

Par Atta Barkindo : le gouvernement nigérian a proposé une amnistie à Boko Haram. Les rebelles ont rejeté cette offre et multiplient les attaques. L'amnistie pouvait-elle mettre un terme aux violences ? En savoir plus »

Peacebuilder Bulletin: November 2013

A regular newsletter from Insight on Conflict for peacebuilders. Featuring funding opportunities, relevant research, and more. Visit insightonconflict.org/sign-up to subscribe.

FUNDING OPPORTUNITIES

Funding for organisations

Tiet Foundation

The Tiet Foundation supports organisations worldwide in addressing issues in human rights that address challenges in a high-impact and low-cost way. The foundation is currently accepting applications for its grant programsDeadline: 30 November 2013. Find out more

Fundsforngos Small Grant: Submit Your Best Proposal and Win a Grant

Fundsforngos is accepting entries for the “Great Proposals” Contest 2013. This contest is open for local NGOs, international organizations and networks. The contest is simple and quick to participate. You only need to fill out a small application form and submit any of your previous proposals that has led to a successful grant. Deadline: 30 November 2013Find out more

MATCH International Women’s Fund

The MATCH International has announced the 2013 Call for Proposals for its International Women’s Fund. This Fund is the first international fund from Canada focusing on social innovation around the world. MATCH bridges feminist grassroots human rights movements and the world of social innovation. It believes women are at the forefront of innovating social change globally funds women’s rights organizations around the world to make lasting changes in the lives of women and girls. Deadline: 6 December 2013 Find out more

The Global Fund for Women

The Global Fund for Women provides funding for women’s groups to advance the human rights of women and girls around the world. It gives grants ranging from $500 to $30,000 for operating and program expenses. Deadline: 15 December 2013Find out more

Sarajevo 2014 Programme

Proposals are being accepted for Sarajevo 2014 Programme under EuropeAid. The goal of this program is to contribute to reconciliation in the Western Balkans. This programme is designed to help completing the process of reconciliation in the Western Balkans. Deadline: 15 January 2014.Find out more

Funding for individuals

Civil Society Exchange Program (CSEP)

This program enables practitioners to spend time with a different organization, where they may engage in joint projects, skills sharing, and general relationship building. For a time period ranging anywhere from two weeks to six months, participants—in either a one-way or two-way organizational exchange—will have the opportunity to work with other organizations in a different part of the community and the world. Deadline: 15 January 2014. Find out more

The Nexus Fund: Retrospective Grants

In order to retain knowledge gained over time, The Nexus Fund offers Retrospective Grants for highly experienced professionals in the atrocity prevention community to reflect and capture lessons learned and best practices. During a 1-3 month sabbatical from their current organization – or perhaps during a transition to another job, or into retirement – these grantees are given the opportunity to reflect on their body of work, and to capture their best thinking for how our community can improve. Deadline: 15 January 2014. Find out more

University funding and training opportunities

Gates Cambridge Scholarships Program

Applications are accepted for Gates Cambridge Scholarships Program offered to international applicants to pursue full-time postgraduate studies in any subject offered by their University. This program is offered by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. The goal of this program is to build a global network of future leaders committed to improving the lives of others. Deadline 03 December 2013. Find out more

University of Oxford Scholarships for African Studies Students

All eligible applicants are invited to submit applications for Waverley – ORISHA Joint Scholarship offered by University of Oxford. The objective of this program is to assist academically excellent students from disadvantaged backgrounds who have shown the potential to make a significant contribution in their future careers. ORISHA (African Humanities Research Fund) is administered by the Scholarships Committee of the African Studies Centre and provides funding for postgraduate study in Africa Studies. Deadline: 24 January 2014Find out more

Sir Evelyn de Rothschild War Studies Scholarship Program

Department of War Studies, King’s College London is seeking applications for Sir Evelyn de Rothschild War Studies Scholarships Program offered to pursue Mphil or PhD programmes. The Scholarship is offered in the fields of War studies. The studentship is £20,000 p.a. for a maximum of three years f/t study. The scholarship will be available to students commencing their studies in January 2014. The Scholarship will help towards the cost of tuition fees and living costs for the durations of the recepient’s study. Deadline: 30 November 2013. Find out more

GDAI – PhD scholarships Program for Africa

Applicants from Africa are invited to submit applications for GDAI – PhD scholarships Program offered under Mo Ibrahim Foundation. Scholarship is offered in the field of Governance for Development in Africa. The scholarship is on a part-present form and it provides for Fees for three years, and for accommodation and living cost for the first year only. Deadline: 30 April 2014. Find out more

Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowships Program

Women from developing countries are invited to submit applications for Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowships Program offered by International Peace Research Association Foundation. The Fellowship provides $5,000 per year for two years, for a total of $10,000. The main purpose of this program is to further the purposes and activities of the International Peace Research Association (IPRA), which has for the last fifty years sought to enhance the process of peace.Deadline: 15 January 2014. Find out more

Yale World Fellows Program 2014

The Yale World Fellows Program at the Yale University, USA is a leadership development program and NGO leaders from all countries (except the United States) can benefit from courses, research, institutions, professors at the University. Rising leaders from across disciplines and borders for an intense and unpredictable mash-up of ideas, world views and experiences are invited to apply. Deadline:4 December 2013 Find out more

Caux Scholars Program

The Caux Scholars Program (CSP) is a month long summer peacebuilding institute for young leaders, aged 21-35. Since its founding in 1991, CSP has 409 alumni from 105 countries. The Program equips scholars with the inspiration to be the change they want to see in the world and the practical skills to do so.  Deadline: 15 February 2014. Find out more

Awards

International Leader of Tomorrow Award

International applicants are invited to take part in International Leader of Tomorrow Award offered in the field of performing arts, sports, debating or creative writing, or external academic competitions and examinations. This award aims to recognize international undergraduate students who demonstrate superior academic achievement, leadership skills, involvement in student affairs and community service, recognized achievement. Deadline: 10 December 2013Find out more

Resources

For more funding opportunities, and to hear about them as they are announced, there are many websites you can check. Including: Funds for NGOSPeace and Collaborative Development Network, and Opportunities for Africans

RESEARCH THIS MONTH

Building Peace: Preventing Deadly Conflict

"Successful prevention requires a deep contextual understanding, at the human, social, economic and political levels. Armed with this local awareness and the critical skills to train, advocate, mediate, or build coalitions, peacebuilders around the world are uniquely positioned to appreciate the underlying causes of tension and assess which tools or strategies will be most effective in fostering peace and preventing conflict from erupting."

Building peace is the new online publication from the Alliance for Peacebuilding. Issue 2, Preventing deadly conflict focuses on creative interventions designed to prevent violence. Articles include: an example of using sport in Nigeria, local prevention mechanisms in Kenya and an interview with UN Deputy Secretary-General Jan Eliasson.

We came back with empty hands: understanding the disarmament, demobilization and reintegration of children formerly associated with armed groups in the Democratic Republic of the Congo

"Community members and former underage combatants spoke of the importance of building participatory and context-appropriate reintegration programs... at its best this process can be seen as an opportunity to help communities collectively heal and critically examine the ways they choose to rebuild."

We came back with empty hands [pdf] looks at community experiences and attitudes of DDR programming for former child soldiers in DR Congo. The research includes the use of a 'body mapping' methodology to empower the participants in the study to portray the impact of war.  The report is the result of collaboration between the Harvard Humanitarian Initiative, the Eastern Congo Initiative, and six local peacebuilding organisations working in eastern DR Congo.

Piecing together the jigsaw: prospects for improved social relations after the armed conflict in northern Mali

"The conflict that began in January 2012 deeply affected Mali’s social fabric and turned the life of almost every Malian upside down. The populations surveyed for this report are unanimous that the consequences of this crisis are far greater than those of the past, and that what makes this conflict different is the breakdown of social relations."

Piecing together the jigsaw, from Oxfam and WILDAF Mali, asked Malians to talk about their experiences of the current conflict and what is needed for peace. The research highlights the damage the conflict has done to social cohesion and stresses the need for community-level reconciliation.

Missed opportunities: the case for strengthening national and local partnership-based humanitarian responses

"Many of the benefits that have been realised to date have been achieved with minimal investments, and little in the way of official donor support outside of emergency contexts. This clearly suggests that, across the board, the potential benefits of partnerships in response have not been maximised."

Missed opportunities looks at how partnerships between local and international organisations in humanitarian response can be strengthened. The study concludes that, despite the benefits these partnerships offer, they are not a central part in much international work and offers recommendations future investment.

Women’s participation in peace negotiations: connections between presence and influence

"Given the low number of female participants informal peace talks, the difficulties women in civil society have experienced in trying to engage effectively in peace processes, and the patchy use of a gender perspective in the drafting of peace agreements, at a very minimum, the following five suggested measures should be established and achieved in the next five years. They are modest measures that ought to have been in place already, providing only more reason to avoid compromise or delay."

Women’s participation in peace negotiations, from UN WOMEN, looks at the role women have played in recent peace negotiations. The report finds that very often women have played little or no role in formal peace processes and women in civil society have struggled to have their voices heard. The report offers recommendations for how to improve this situation.

Engaging communities in protection strategies

"Despite the growing awareness that local voices are critical to violence prevention and peacebuilding in conflict-affected countries, there is very little understanding of or guidance on how to engage conflict-affected community in interventions to protect civilians from deliberate violence."

Engaging communities in protection strategies is a Stimson Center project looking at how the views of local communities can better inform interventions to protect civilians from violence. The project has so far produced two issues briefs: Community perceptions as a priority in protection and peacekeeping & Community self-protection strategies: how peacekeepers can help or harm.

FROM OUR BLOG

Bridging divisions in Bosnia-Herzegovina’s society

By Mirjana Kosic: Ethnic divisions in Bosnia and Herzegovina are greater than ever before. The Genesis Project, though, shows that reconciliation is not an impossible dream. Read more »

Burundi at crossroads: tensions are rising ahead of the 2015 elections

By Jean Claude Nkundwa: As Burundi’s 2015 elections approach, Jean Claude Nkundwa analyses the current political situation and the risks the country is facing.Read more »

Gender First

By John Coonrod: John Coonrod, Executive Vice President of The Hunger Project, makes the case for gender being an integral and fundamental component of Local First issues.Read more »

Malala, bravery and the Nobel Peace Prize

By Ruairi Nolan: Malala’s remarkable bravery reminds us that we should recognise the moral good of people standing up for peace, no matter the costs.Read more »

Could this year’s Nobel Peace Prize be a step towards eradicating chemical weapons?

By Derek Brown: Why this year’s Nobel Peace Prize a worthy and timely tribute, and one which will hopefully bolster efforts to eradicate chemical weapons. Read more »

20 years after the genocide, how are Rwandans rebuilding?

By Samantha Lakin: 2014 marks 20 years since the Rwandan genocide. What are Rwandans doing to promote peace and overcome the trauma of the events 20 years ago? Read more »

The Rwandan case: is it possible to truly compensate victims of genocide?

By Jean-Paul Mugiraneza: Why are the victims of the Rwandan genocide struggling to receive reparations, and is it even possible to fully reparate victims after such an atrocity?Read more »

Sexual violence and indigenous women in conflict

By Kirthi Jayakumar: Kirthi Jayakumar looks at how sexual violence during conflict is often used as a way to destroy indigenous populations. Read more »

Fighting a losing battle: The futility of the current ‘war on drugs’

By Fabio Andres Diaz: Fabio Andres Diaz challenges what he sees as the West’s misguided and ineffective ‘war on drugs’. Read more »

Could offering an amnesty to Boko Haram stop violence in Nigeria?

By Atta Barkindo: The Nigerian government offered an amnesty to Boko Haram. The rebels rejected it and attacks are now increasing. But was the amnesty going to stop violence? Read more »