Peacebuilder Bulletin: Janvier 2014

Voici la newsletter régulière de Insight on Conflict destinée aux personnes et organisations qui travaillent pour la paix. Vous y trouverez notamment des opportunités de financements et les nouveautés en matière de recherche. Inscrivez-vous à cette newsletter au lien suivant : insightonconflict.org/sign-up

OPPORTUNITES DE FINANCEMENT

Financement pour les organisations

Prix DAC 2014

Le Prix DAC pour le Développement de l’Innovation à grande échelle est remis pour avoir mené une approche, un instrument, une démarche novatrice au-delà de cette étape à une plus grande portée. L’objectif de ce prix est de promouvoir l’élargissement d’innovations qui traitent des lacunes liées au développement. Date butoir : Le 31 mars 2014. Pour plus d'informations

Prince Claus Fund : Demandes de projet pour des initiatives culturelles

La Fondation Prince Claus pour la Culture et le Développement accepte toutes propositions d’idées créatives et novatrices qui promeuvent l’égalité et l’accès à l’événement « Culture in Defiance » 2014. Le but principal de cette possibilité de financement est de promouvoir l’art et la culture qui cherchent à réenchanter les possibilités, en créant un espace de discussion, des groupes de débats qui auront un impact sur leurs sociétés. Date limite : 28 février 2014. Pour plus d’informations 

Japan Fund for Global Environment - Programme d’aide pour ONGs.

The Japan Fund for Global Environment s’emploie à aider les projets d’ONGs pour la préservation de l’environnement dans les régions en développement ayant des besoins urgents ; renforçant l’engagement du Japon envers la préservation de l’environnement dans le monde et offre aux gens de différentes origines et classes sociales, une chance, en tant que Citoyen du Monde, de participer activement aux projets environnementaux des ONGs ou de contribuer financièrement au soutien de ces projets. Pour plus d’informations 

Financement universitaires et opportunités éducatives

GDAI (Gouvernance pour le développement des initiatives en Afrique) : bourses de doctorat du Programme pour l'Afrique

Les candidats africains sont invités à envoyer leurs demandes pour le programme de bourses de doctorat GDAI, offert par la Fondation Mo Ibrahim. La bourse est attribuée dans le domaine de la gouvernance pour le développement en Afrique. La bourse est partielle : elle couvre les frais universitaires durant trois ans et les dépenses afférentes à l’hébergement et aux frais quotidiens seulement pour la première année. Date limite : 30 avril 2014. En savoir plus

Caux Scholars Program

Le Caux Scholars Program (CSP)  est un institut de formation sur les processus de paix. La formation d’un mois a lieu durant l’été et s'adresse aux jeunes dirigeants âgés de 21 à 35 ans. Depuis sa fondation en 1991, CSP compte 409 anciens élèves provenant de 105 pays. Le programme donne aux élèves la possibilité d’incarner le changement qu’ils aimeraient voir dans le monde et leur fournit les compétences pratiques pour y parvenir. Date limite : 15 février 2014 En savoir plus

Fond spécial pour la recherche – Bourse Doctorat pour les Candidats venant de Pays en Développement

L’Université de Gand (Belgique)cherche des candidats pour son « Fond Spécial pour la recherche » offert afin de soutenir les groupes de recherche d’universités ou les centres de recherche dans les pays en voie de développement. Le but de ce programme est d’agrandir les meilleurs centres de recherche en perfectionnant la formation du personnel universitaire. Le 04 mars 2014Pour en savoir plus 

Bourses du Centre Archbishop Desmond Tutu dedié aux Études sur la Paix et les Conflits à l’Université Hope de Liverpool, au Royaume-Uni Disponibles pour le département Master d’études sur la Paix 2014/15.

Le Centre Archbishop Desmond Tutu de l’ Université Hope de Liverpool dédié aux Études sur la Paix et les Conflits, offre deux bourses pour payer entièrement les frais de scolarité aux candidats inscrits en Master d’études sur la Paix, à partir de septembre 2014. Pour plus d’informations 

Les Prix

Prix International des Droits de l’Homme2013, pour la Fondation Commémorative du 18 mai de Gwangju.

La Fondation Commémorative du 18 mai, dont le site est en Corée, accepte tout candidat pour le Prix Gwangju 2013 pour les Droits de l’Homme . Ce prix est remis à un individu ou une organisation qui s’est battue ou qui a contribué à l’amélioration et au progrès des droits de l’Homme, de la démocratie et de la paix dans sa communauté et dans son pays. Date butoir : 24 février 2014. Plus d’informations

Premier Prix de la Paix

Le Premier Prix de la Paix célèbre l’immense contribution de nos jeunes artisans de la paix. Le prix, d’une valeur de 25 000$ pour une période de deux ans, récompensera 5 à 10 jeunes entre 8 et 22 ans de leur première action de Paix dans la confrérie. Pour plus d’informations

World of Children Prix Humanitaire

The World of Children Award lance un appel à candidatures pour ses programmes de remises de prix qui fournissent un financement et une reconnaissance pour ceux qui s’efforcent de changer la vie des enfants en découvrant et améliorant ces changements pour le monde des enfants. Date limite : 1er avril 2014 Plus d’informations

Resources

Pour plus d’opportunités de financement, et pour d'entendre parler d'eux comme ils sont annoncés, il ya de nombreux sites Web que vous pouvez regarder. Y compris : Funds for NGOSPeace and Collaborative Development Network, et Opportunities for Africans

LA RECHERCHE CE MOIS-CI

L’autre facette du genre humain : Les Hommes sont d’importants agents du changement

The other side of gender de l’USIP (United States Institute of Peace) affirme que les hommes ont besoin d’être considérés comme bien plus que de simples responsables de violence lors de conflits, tout en reconnaîssant qu’ils sont aussi les victimes et les témoins de cette violence. Selon les journaux, une meilleure compréhension de ces expériences difficiles et les besoins sexospécifiques des Hommes lors de violents conflits pourraient renforcer le travail de consolidation de la paix.

Towards a theory of ex-combatant reintegration

Towards a theory of ex-combatant reintegration, de Stina Torjesen, défend le développement d’un cadre théorique pour la réintégration.  L’article propose une nouvelle définition de la réintégration qui se concentre sur les expériences d’ex-combattants, plutôt que sur l’activité programmatique et suggère des domaines de recherche plus approfondis.

« Better to die while speaking the truth » : Attaques contre les défenseurs des droits de l’Hommes , dans la province du Nord-Kivu, République Démocratique du Congo

Better to die while speaking the truth d’Amnesty International, sont des documents qui relatent des attaques contre les défenseurs des droits de l’homme dans la province du Nord Kivu, RD du Congo. Ces dernières années, les défenseurs des droits de l’homme dans le Nord Kivu ont été d’autant plus les cibles des forces de sécurité et des groupes armés non étatiques. Ce rapport souligne les défis qui se posent lorsqu’il faut travailler dans des zones de conflits où il y a peu de respect de la loi.

« Leave everything to God » : responsabilité envers les violences intercommunautaires dans les régions de Plateau State et Kaduna State, au Nigéria

Leave everything to God de Human Rights Watch, enquête sur le manque de responsabilité à propos des actes de violences intercommunautaires dans le centre du Nigéria. Le rapport met en lumière l’étendue d’une impunité grandissante qui enflamme les tensions entre communautés, puisque chacun cherche à dicter sa propre loi.

African Journal of Conflict Resolution (Vol 13, Nº 2)

La dernière édition du African Journal of Conflict Resolution, de l’organisation Accord, inclut des articles traitant de conflit inter-ethnique dans le sud du Soudan, du besoin de considérer l’héritage du colonialisme dans la résolution de conflit et du renforcement du leadership politique en Afrique.

BLOG INSIGHT ON CONFLICT

Good water neighbours in the Middle East

De Michal Milner : Michal Milner partage quelques-uns des défis qui se posent lorsqu’il faut travailler dans une zone de conflits - et notamment celui d’encourager une coopération entre Israéliens, Jordaniens et Palestiniens. En savoir plus

Armed violence and disability: Armed violence and disability : the untold story

De RashmiThapa : RashmiThapa, de Handicap International, nous montre comment ces survivants du conflit qui sont mutilés, font face à des défis à long terme et à peu de soutien. En savoir plus

South Sudan crises : background information

De Flora McCrone : Flora McCrone de Justice Africa nous donne un certain contexte au développement de la crise au Soudan du sud. En savoir plus

The role of memorialisation in conflict prevention

De Kevin McCann : La commémoration joue un rôle clé dans la prévention de conflit, selon Williams Nkurunziza, le Haut Commissaire rwandais. En savoir plus

Separating politics from violence in Colombia

De Fabio Andres Diaz : Comment les pourparlers de paix colombiens pourrait mener à une ouverture de la participation politique et à une démocratie plus forte. En savoir plus 

Constitutional dialogue in South Sudan

De Flora McCrone : Des organisations locales s’assurent que les voix des citoyens soient entendues et considérées comme les écrits d’une nouvelle consitution. En savoir plus

Nelson Mandela : an inspirational life

De Stephen Oola : Nelson Mandela a inspiré beaucoup de gens à dédier leurs vies à la paix et à la justice. Notre corespondant local en Ouganda nous explique comment Mandela l’a inspiré.En savoir plus

Sport as a peacebuilding tool : Experiences from Nigeria

De Michael OlufemiSodipo : Le sport peut être un outil très puissant pour établir la paix. Voyez comment cette organisation nigérienne utilise le sport pour enseigner la tolérence, le travail d’équipe et le respect aux jeunes. En savoir plus

Tomorrow’s Peacebuilders 2013. meet the winners

De Insight on Conflict : Tomorrow’s Peacebuilders 2013 winners présentent leur travail pour l’établissement de la paix et nous explique ce que cette récompense signifie pour eux. En savoir plus

Nelson Mandela’s choice of a peaceful path

De David Greybe : L’héritage de Nelson Mandela en tant que pacificateur est évalué par David Greybe, qui a fait des reportages sur la période de l’apartheid. En savoir plus

Peacebuilder Bulletin: January 2014

A regular newsletter from Insight on Conflict for peacebuilders. Featuring funding opportunities, relevant research, and more. Visit insightonconflict.org/sign-up to subscribe.

FUNDING OPPORTUNITIES

Funding for organisations

United Nations Trust Fund to End Violence against Women 2013

The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women) has announced the 2013 Call for Proposals for NGOs to apply for the United Nations Trust Fund to End Violence against Women. It is a leading global grant-making mechanism exclusively dedicated to addressing violence against women and girls in all its forms. It supports effective initiatives that demonstrate that violence against women and girls can be systematically addressed, reduced and, with persistence, eliminated.Deadline: 22 January 2014 Find out more

DAC Prize 2014

The DAC Prize for Taking Development Innovation to Scale is awarded for taking an innovative approach, instrument, mechanism beyond the pilot phase to a wider application. The objective of the Prize is to promote the scaling-up of innovations that address important development gaps. Deadline: 31 March 2014 Find out more

Prince Claus Fund: Project proposals for cultural initiatives

Prince Claus Fund for Culture and Development is inviting proposals with creative and innovative ideas that promote equality and opportunity for ‘Culture in Defiance’ 2014. The major aim of the funding opportunity is to promote art and culture that seek to re-imagine possibilities, by creating a space for dialogue, critical thinking and impact in their societies. Deadline:28 February 2014Find out more

Japan Fund for Global Environment – Grant Program for NGOs

The Japan Fund for Global Environment aims to support the NGO projects for environmental conservation in developing regions with immediate needs; strengthen Japan’s involvement in global environmental conservation; and to offer people from different fields and classes a chance as a Global Citizen, to participate actively in environmental NGO projects or to contribute money to support environmental NGO projects. Find out more

Funding for individuals

African Peacebuilding Network Research Grants

The African Peacebuilding Network of the Social Science Research Council invites research grant applications from African researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners working on conflict and peacebuilding issues at universities and research institutions or regional governmental and nongovernmental organizations in Africa. Deadline: 1 February 2014Find out more

University funding and training opportunities

GDAI – PhD scholarships Program for Africa

Applicants from Africa are invited to submit applications for GDAI – PhD scholarships Program offered under Mo Ibrahim Foundation. Scholarship is offered in the field of Governance for Development in Africa. The scholarship is on a part-present form and it provides for Fees for three years, and for accommodation and living cost for the first year only. Deadline: 30 April 2014.Find out more

Caux Scholars Program

The Caux Scholars Program (CSP) is a month long summer peacebuilding institute for young leaders, aged 21-35. Since its founding in 1991, CSP has 409 alumni from 105 countries. The Program equips scholars with the inspiration to be the change they want to see in the world and the practical skills to do so. Deadline: 15 February 2014. Find out more

Special Research Fund – Doctoral Scholarships for Candidates from Developing Countries

University of Ghent is seeking applications for “Special Research Fund” offered to support university research groups or research centres in developing countries. The goal of this program is to grow excellent research centres by upgrading local academic personnel.Deadline: 04 March 2014 Find out more

Scholarships in Development for Africans, Paris School of International Affairs

Paris School of International Affairs of Sciences Po (PSIA) and the French Development Agency is pleased to invite applications for scholarships program offered to pursue Master program in Development Practice or in International Development. Deadline: 04 February 2014 Find out more

Peacebuilding and Education in Iraq: An Interdisciplinary Symposium

The University of Duhok’s Center for Peace and Conflict Resolution Studies invites the submission of papers to be presented at the first academic symposium in Iraq focused on the intersection of peacebuilding and education in Duhok on May 13-15, 2014. The aim of the symposium will be to raise awareness of ongoing educational efforts in peacebuilding in Iraq and in neighbouring states, to invite critical consideration of them in terms of theory and practice, and to catalyze further research and action related to new or expanded programs or projects in this area. Deadline: 24 January 2014 Find out more

Scholarships Available for MA Peace Studies 2014/15 from Archbishop Desmond Tutu Centre for War and Peace Studies at Liverpool Hope University, UK

Liverpool Hope University’s Archbishop Desmond Tutu Centre for War and Peace Studies is offering two full tuition fee scholarships for applicants to the MA Peace Studies starting September 2014. Find out more

Awards

The May 18 Memorial Foundation’s Gwangju International Prize for Human Rights 2013

The Korea-based May 18 Memorial Foundation is accepting applications for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights 2013. The prize goes to one individual or an organization that has struggled for or contributed to the improvement and advancement of human rights, democracy and peace in their community and country.Deadline: 24 February 2014 Find out more

Peace First Prize

The Peace First Prize celebrates the powerful contributions of youth peacemakers. The prize will recognize 5-10 young people between the ages of 8-22 with a two-year $25,000 Peace First fellowship. Find out more

The Front Line Defenders Award

The annual Front Line Defenders Award honours the work of a human rights defender who, through non-violent work, is courageously making an outstanding contribution to the promotion and protection of the human rights of others, often at great personal risk to themselves. Deadline: 24 January 2014 Find out more

World of Children Award

The World of Children Award is accepting applications for the its grant award programs which provide funding and recognition to support life-changing work for children by discovering and elevating effective changemakers for children worldwide. Deadline: 01 April 2014 Find out more

Resources

For more funding opportunities, and to hear about them as they are announced, there are many websites you can check. Including: Funds for NGOSPeace and Collaborative Development Network, and Opportunities for Africans

RESEARCH THIS MONTH

The other side of gender: men as critical agents of change

The other side of gender, from USIP, argues that men need to be viewed more than simply perpetrators of violence during conflict, recognising that men are also victims of, and witnesses to, violence. According to the paper, better understanding of the complex experiences, and gender-specific needs, of men during violent conflict would strengthen peacebuilding work.

Towards a theory of ex-combatant reintegration

Towards a theory of ex-combatant reintegration, by Stina Torjesen, makes the case for developing a theoretical framework for reintegration.  The paper proposes a new definition of reintegration which focuses on the experiences of ex-combatants instead of programmatic activity, and suggests areas of further research.

“Better to die while speaking the truth”: Attacks against human rights defenders in North Kivu, DRC

Better to die while speaking the truth, from Amnesty International, documents attacks on human rights defenders in North Kivu, DR Congo. Over the past year, human rights defenders in North Kivu have found themselves increasingly the target of both the security forces and non state armed groups. The report highlights the challenges of working conflict areas with little rule of law.

“Leave everything to God”: accountability for inter-communal violence in Plateau and Kaduna States, Nigeria

Leave everything to God, from Human Rights Watch, explores the lack of accountability for acts of inter-communal violence in central Nigeria. The report finds that widespread impunity further inflames community tensions as people look to take the law into their own hands.

African Journal of Conflict Resolution (Vol.13, No.2)

The latest edition of the African Journal of Conflict Resolution, from Accord, includes articles looking at inter-ethnic conflict in South Sudan, the need to consider the legacy of colonialism in conflict resolution, and strengthening political leadership in Africa.

FROM OUR BLOG

Good water neighbours in the Middle East By Michal Milner: Michal Milner shares some of the challenges of working in a conflict zone – in this case promoting cooperation between Israelis, Jordanians, and Palestinians. Read more »
Armed violence and disability: the untold story
By Rashmi Thapa: Rashmi Thapa, from Handicap International, shows how survivors of conflict who are left disabled face long-term challenges and little support, Read more »

South Sudan crisis: background information By Flora McCrone: Flora McCrone of Justice Africa provides background context to the developing crisis in South Sudan. Read more »

The role of memorialisation in conflict prevention By Kevin McCann: Memorialisation has a key role to play in preventing conflict, according to Williams Nkurunziza, the Rwandan High Commissioner. Read more »

Separating politics from violence in Colombia By Fabio Andres Diaz: How the Colombian peace talks could lead to an opening up of political participation & a stronger democracy. Read more »

Constitutional dialogue in South Sudan By Flora McCrone: Local organisations are making sure that citizen’s voices are heard as South Sudan writes a new constitution. Read more »

Nelson Mandela: an inspirational life By Stephen Oola: Nelson Mandela inspired countless people to devote their lives to peace and justice. Our Local Correspondent for Uganda shares how Mandela inspired him.Read more »

Sport as a peacebuilding tool: Experiences from Nigeria By Michael Olufemi Sodipo: Sport can be a powerful tool for building peace. Read how this Nigerian organisation is using sport to teach young people tolerance, cooperation and respect. Read more »

Tomorrow’s Peacebuilders 2013: meet the winners By Insight on Conflict: Tomorrow’s Peacebuilders 2013 winners present their peacebuilding work and tell us what the award has meant for them. Read more »

Nelson Mandela’s choice of a peaceful path By David Greybe: Nelson Mandela’s legacy as a peacemaker is assessed by David Greybe, who reported on the apartheid era. Read more »